Log in

No account? Create an account
There were never any "good old days" — they are today, they are tomorrow
anyone heard of Sisterwoman.com? 
19th-Nov-2007 02:12 pm
note to self
Has anyone heard of a social networking site called Sisterwoman.com? I got an email from them that might be legit, but I'm just not sure.

This is what the email said:
From: sisters@sisterwoman.com [mailto:sisters@sisterwoman.com]
Sent: Friday, November 16, 2007 4:52 AM
To: [Lexi's mundane name]
Subject: 2nd Request - A Girlfriend Has Invited you to Sisterwoman.com

One of your girlfriends has invited you to join her on Sisterwoman.com. Click here, sign up and join your girlfriend and this worldwide network of women who are supporting each other, loving life, and having fun as only “sisters” can.


Things that make me wary:

  • It was sent to my work email, but none of my co-workers has said "hey, I sent you an invite", emailed me with a heads-up, or anything like that.
  • It says "2nd Request" but I never received the first request. It didn't get caught by our gateway's spam filter or directed to my bulk or junk folders.
  • The hyperlinks (which are not live in the quoted text above) don't point to sisterwoman.com, they point to whatcounts.com.
  • All 4 of the hyperlinks point to the same URL at whatcounts.com. (Maybe that's not suspicious; maybe it's just stupid (IMO) coding.)

Am I being paranoid? Are my phishing antibodies working too hard?
19th-Nov-2007 10:28 pm (UTC)
The URL mismatch, by itself, leads to a high index of suspicion.
19th-Nov-2007 10:38 pm (UTC)
It sounds highly suspicious to me.
19th-Nov-2007 10:55 pm (UTC) - I have never heard of it.
Will poke around. Don't think you are being paranoid.

Just think you don't want to sign up for spam/virus or ???

Good thinking.

19th-Nov-2007 11:10 pm (UTC) - Re: I have never heard of it.

I get sort of spiky and prickly when I perceive that other people who aren't my friends feel they have some sort of entitlement to my time and attention. Telemarketers, people with clipboards (whether survey or petition), people emailing me to say "we've never met but could you read Chapter 1 of my novel and tell me if you like it" — who are you and why should I let you in?
19th-Nov-2007 11:16 pm (UTC) - Re: I have never heard of it.
Heh. I feel that way too. But especially with sales people. I have asked --"AND CAN I FIND ANYTHING FOR YOU TODAY????" (chirp chirp chirp hover...)-- aggressive sales people to please not speak to me for the duration I am in their store. I find that so invasive and annoying.

I totally know what you mean.
19th-Nov-2007 11:44 pm (UTC) - Re: I have never heard of it.
I'm the same way. Leave me the fuck alone and let me shop in peace!
19th-Nov-2007 11:31 pm (UTC)
Googling [sisterwoman.com -launch -launched], it looks creepy.

A number of people have "invited" me to linkedin.com (some of them actually real). It looks pretty awful as well. A random invite to a similar thing just seems like trouble. It is not social networking if you do not even know who is inviting you to the party.
19th-Nov-2007 11:58 pm (UTC)
It is not social networking if you do not even know who is inviting you to the party.

That's an excellent point.
19th-Nov-2007 11:46 pm (UTC)
1] Sounds spammy.
2] Do you really want to be part of a site called Sisterwoman? *gag*
20th-Nov-2007 05:49 am (UTC) - It's legit
I work for WhatCounts, we're the company that sends their emails (or, maybe one of our clients does). We just provide the software, that's it. Anyway feel free to ping me justin_sisterwoman@whatcounts.com if you have questions but I'm telling you from the source... it's legit.
20th-Nov-2007 07:07 pm (UTC) - Re: It's legit
You need to rewrite the email, in that case. As it is, at least six fairly savvy net users looked at it and thought it was more likely to be spam/phishing than not.
20th-Nov-2007 07:10 pm (UTC) - Re: It's legit
Actually, SisterWoman has the capability to do that. I will have someone from our tech support team contact them to let them know how... thanks for your reply!
20th-Nov-2007 10:59 pm (UTC) - Re: It's legit
You're welcome. I also contacted them directly (via the form on their website) to let them know about these problems with how they're presenting themselves to potential members.
This page was loaded Jun 20th 2019, 5:54 am GMT.